Posted in All On The Cover, Chanel Iman, Page Six Magazine, Tyra Banks

All On The Cover: CHANEL IMAN COVERS PAGE SIX


chanel-iman-page-six-magazine-cover
Supermodel on the rise, Chanel Iman covers the newest issue of Page Six Magazine. The 18 year-old model who is, runway and designer’s “It Girl”, talks about how it’s hard to book modeling jobs because of her ethnicity,  her dating status and sets the record straight, and her mentor, Tyra Banks on how she keeps it real.

Below are a few excerpts from her interview with Page Six.

On the difficulties that models face in the industry because of her ethnicity…

“It’s not just black girls. It’s ethnic girls in general: Brazilian girls, Hispanic. You really don’t see a lot of Asians either. A lot of designers think that if every girl on the runway looks exactly alike, then people will come to the shows and buy the clothes because they won’t be focusing on the models….It’s not even just runway either… us ethnic girls should be getting a lot of the covers too! I would love to be on half of the campaigns these [white] girls are booking, all looking exactly alike. It’s not right. It’s not fair.”

On her dating status…

“I’m young and I’m dating. But I’m not gonna say any names. There are special people in my life but nothing serious. Just having a man in general is a job! I have one job; I can’t have a second. I’m the type of girl that if I have a man, I want to be a good girl-friend and be there for them and take care of them.”

On her mentor, Tyra Banks...

“She keeps it real. She tells it like it is. She’s really been a great mentor for me.”

[Source: CL]

Kiss Kiss,
jnelj4u

Leave a comment